AP Assembly election to be held on April 11

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Election Commission to Hold Key Meeting Shortly to Discuss Final Modalities of Polls

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Election Commission to Hold Key Meeting Shortly to Discuss Final Modalities of Polls

The Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19 and the votes will be counted on May 23, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora announced on Sunday.

The required electronic voting machines and paper trail machines are in place to be deployed in almost 10 lakh poling stations across 543 Lok Sabha constituencies.

A decision in this regard was taken at BJP Parliamentary Board meeting on Friday, which was held for almost three hours to discuss key poll-related issues.

National Conference leader Omar Abdullah on Sunday criticised Prime Minister Narendra Modi's government and accused him of "surrendering" to Pakistan and militants to prevent the announcement of dates of Assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir. Now, as the Election Commission has announced the dates and the notification has come, the model of code of conduct has come into action. Andhra Pradesh and Telangana are going for the elections in the First Phase itself. He said the Commission will continuously monitor the situation in the state and take a call.

While the first phase polls to Assembly and Lok Sabha seats in constituencies of Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput will be held on April 11, the second phase elections will be held in Bargarh, Sundergarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska constituencies on April 18. "Remember this the next time you are praising PM Modi for his strong leadership", he tweeted.

Of the 543 parliamentary seats up for grabs, 241 could go to Modi's ruling alliance, compared with 141 to the Congress party-led opposition alliance, according to a nationwide survey of 50,000 people by the CVoter polling agency conducted over the past four weeks. The last date for filing of nominations is March 25. The party has fielded Atishi (East Delhi), Dilip Pandey (North East Delhi), Raghav Chadha (South Delhi), Gugan Singh (North West Delhi) and Pankaj Gupta (Chandni Chowk) for the Lok Sabha election. It is generally believed that the Election will be held during the months of April and May.

Polls will be held on April 18, 2019 in a total of 97 constituencies spread across 13 states.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.