Luka Modric makes it a clean sweep, wins Ballon D’or

Champions League all-time top scorers Lionel Messi added to his tally yesterday

Champions League all-time top scorers Lionel Messi added to his tally yesterday

Luka Modric has become the first player that is not called Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo to win the Ballon d'Or since 2007 when Kaka bagged the gong.

Ronaldo finished in second place, 277 points behind Modrić with France's Antoine Griezmann third, 339 points behind the Croatian.

After becoming the first Croatian to win the Ballon d'Or, Modric quickly pledged his future to three-time reigning Champions League holders Madrid amid links with Serie A side Inter.

He won the Golden Ball for his contribution in Russian Federation and was named the Best FIFA Footballer of the Year in September, and is the first Croatian to claim the Ballon d'Or.

Barcelona captain Messi and Juventus forward Ronaldo - formerly of Manchester United and Real Madrid - have won the past 10 Ballons d'Or between them.

The 33-year-old was instrumental as Real clinched a third successive Champions League trophy last season. "I want to end this speech with a message to all young girls in the world".

France coach Didier Deschamps said a France player should have won the award.

Hegerberg, a three-time Women's Champions League victor with Lyon, was selected by a jury of 45 journalists as the cream of the crop in female football.

French disc jockey Martin Solveig appeared to embarrass Hegerberg when he asked her if she would "twerk" after she collected the trophy. Brazilian
Neymar, third previous year, was 12th despite a
domestic treble with Paris Saint-Germain.

The Atletico Madrid star had openly admitted he was keen to win the individual honour this year but said after the ceremony: 'I am very happy with my year 2018. I have sensational emotions at the moment that are really hard to describe in words. Leo Messi was surprisingly relegated to fifth place.

The Portuguese - who wasn't in attendance at the event - has won the previous two iterations, but missed out to former Real Madrid teammate Luka Modric.

France Football magazine has been awarding the Ballon d'Or since 1956, and created a women's award for the first time this year.

Hegerberg has said she will not play for Norway at the Women's World Cup in France next June.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.